Wright Lab Organization

Wright Lab (WL) is a Yale University facility hosted by and part of the Physics Department.   It serves the broader University STEM community while hosting world-leading nuclear, particle and astrophysics research.   Its service to the University is both through the resident technical expertise it provides, and through its core Science Hill facilities, such as the machine shops that it hosts.  The core facilities hosted within WL are overseen by the Provost’s Office.

Contact Us

Wright Lab Director
Karsten Heeger headshot.
Karsten Heeger

 The Wright Lab Director is responsible for providing the overall scientific and administrative leadership and vision of Wright Laboratory.  The Director is assisted in this task by the following positions:

Associate Director for Operations
Jeff Ashenfelter

The Associate Director for Operations is responsible for overseeing the Wright Lab facilities, including shops and office and laboratory space, and technical personnel at Wright Laboratory.  This position includes ensuring safety requirements as established by Yale Environmental Health and Safety are met.

Associate Director for Instrumentation and Education

James Nikkel

The Associate Director for Instrumentation and Education is responsible for developing the instrumentation initiative at Wright Lab and overseeing the operation of the Advanced Prototyping Center.  He also is the lead for developing and teaching workshops, courses and training programs related to the activities and shared core facilities at Wright Lab.

Program Manager
Victoria Misenti

The Program Manager is responsible for partnering with the Director to conceive, develop and execute the strategic vision and programming for the Wright Laboratory.  Areas of responsibility include: administration, development / fundraising, outreach, visibility and communications, and financial oversight for individual initiatives.  

Shop Supervisors

J.W. Gibbs Professional Shop: Vincent Bernardo
Wright Lab Research Shop:  Craig Miller
Wright Lab Teaching Shop: David Johnson

Technical Support:

Thomas Barker, Rosario Bernardo, Will Emmett, Tom Hurteau, Francisco Lopez, Michael Nuzzo

Computing Support: 

Vincent Balbarin
Andrew Currie

 Wright Lab has computing support for researchers and staff through the Physics Department and in collaboration with the Yale Center for Research Computing.

Administrative Support:

Taylor Dunnigan
Paula Farnsworth
Kimberly Tighe

Wright Lab Committees